

## THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK

January 12, 2020

Hon. Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader, United States Senate Hon. Nancy Pelosi, Speaker, United States House of Representatives Hon. Charles E. Schumer, Minority Leader, United States Senate Hon. Kevin McCarthy, Minority Leader, United States House of Representatives United States Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

RE: Removal of Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Dear Leader McConnell, Speaker Pelosi, Leader Schumer, and Leader McCarthy:

The United States Capitol is the most recognizable symbol of democracy around the world, and we share your dismay and disgust at the insurrection that occurred there last Wednesday, January 6, 2021. This is now a day that will live in infamy in American history – enabled and incited by the words and actions of the sitting President, Donald J. Trump. As a result, we urge that Congress promptly pursue action and remove the sitting President office.

President Trump's actions and words knowingly helped incite this attempted coup and the extraordinary acts of domestic terrorism we witnessed last Wednesday. This was nothing less than an attempt to nullify the sacred trust of the American voter, who overwhelmingly expressed their choice for President by exercising their most fundamental American right – the right to vote – in an election that was fair and secure. Instead, a mob desecrated the U.S. Capitol and cost five American lives. It is as stunning as it is unacceptable and such actions must have swift repercussions for the sake of our democracy.

President Trump has repeatedly attempted to undermine our democracy by calling into question the results of a free and fair election this past November that has withstood more than 60 court challenges, repeatedly validating that there was no widespread abuse or fraud. Simply put, words have consequences – and the President's repeated efforts to undermine the truth and rally supporters to his personal and authoritarian cause culminated in Wednesday's direct attack on our Republic. To secure the future of democracy in the United States action must be taken to prevent a sitting President from subverting democracy.

Recognizing it is unlikely that Vice President Pence or the Cabinet will take steps to invoke the 25th Amendment, we urge and support congressional action to promptly pursue articles of impeachment. We do not make this recommendation lightly but believe the egregious and unprecedented actions of the sitting President warrant these steps. Moreover, it is necessary to establish a precedent and prevent any future occurrences.

It is important to note we welcome incoming President-elect Joe Biden and an urgent and aggressive 100-day agenda to begin healing the country and tackling the health and economic challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. We urge Congress to move expeditiously regarding the matter of the impeachment and removal of President Trump because he is a clear and present danger to our nation's security.

For the sake of a free and democratic United States, President Trump must resign. If not, we the undersigned Members of the New York State Assembly urge Congress to act swiftly to remove him. Thank you for your attention to this urgent matter.

## Sincerely,

Carl E. Heastie, Speaker of the NYS Assembly Assemblymember Patricia Fahy

Crystal Peoples-Stokes,
Majority Leader of the NYS Assembly

Assemblymember Jo Anne Simon Assemblymember Al Stirpe

Assemblymember Judy Griffin Assemblymember Khaleel Anderson

Assemblymember Robert Carroll Assemblymember Dan Quart

Assemblymember Linda Rosenthal Assemblymember Kenneth Burgos

Assemblymember Steve Stern Assemblymember Phil Steck

Assemblymember Nick Perry Assemblymember Charles Barron

Assemblymember Jonathan Jacobson Assemblymember Maritza Davila

Assemblymember Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas Assemblymember Fred Thiele, Jr.

Assemblymember Emily Gallagher Assemblymember Anna Kelles

Assemblymember Sarah Clark Assemblymember Sandy Galef

Assemblymember Amanda Septimo Assemblymember Ed Braunstein

Assemblymember Zohran Mamdani Assemblymember William Conrad

Assemblymember Cathy Nolan Assemblymember Chris Burdick

Assemblymember Yuh-Line Niou Assemblymember William Magnarelli

Assemblymember Michaelle Solages Assemblymember Jennifer Lunsford

Assemblymember Nily Rozic Assemblymember Charles Lavine

Assemblymember Donna Lupardo Assemblymember Al Taylor

Assemblymember Steven Cymbrowitz Assemblymember Erik Dilan

Assemblymember Victor Pichardo Assemblymember Demon Meeks

Assemblymember Steven Otis Assemblymember Latrice Walker

Assemblymember David Weprin Assemblymember Karen McMahon Assemblymember Pat Burke Assemblymember Kimberley Jean-Pierre Assemblymember William Colton Assemblymember Harry Bronson Assemblymember Gary Pretlow Assemblymember Harvey Epstein Assemblymember Kenneth Zebrowski Assemblymember Didi Barrett Assemblymember Helene Weinstein Assemblymember Andrew Hevesi Assemblymember Jenifer Rajkumar Assemblymember Ron Kim Assemblymember Steve Englebright Assemblymember Inez Dickens Assemblymember Jon Rivera

Assemblymember Pamela Hunter Assemblymember Rebecca Seawright Assemblymember Jeffrey Dinowitz Assemblymember Catalina Cruz Assemblymember Dick Gottfried Assemblymember Gina Sillitti Assemblymember Thomas Abinanti Assemblymember Karina Reyes Assemblymember Daniel O'Donnell Assemblymember Stefani Zinerman Assemblymember Robert Rodriguez Assemblymember Phil Ramos Assemblymember Deborah Glick Assemblymember Clyde Vanel Assemblymember Amy Paulin Assemblymember Chantel Jackson Assemblymember Monica Wallace

cc: New York State Congressional Delegation New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo New York State Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins