In Honor of Women’s History, Assembly Member Rebecca A. Seawright Hosts Women of Distinction Awards

Women of Distinction recognized at the ribbon cutting for the Grand Opening of the new community office for residents of the Upper East Side and Roosevelt Island

In honor of Women’s History Month, Assembly Member Rebecca A. Seawright (D-Manhattan) hosted a Women of Distinction Awards ceremony to recognize the extraordinary women on the Upper East Side and Roosevelt Island. The awards ceremony was held at the Women’s History Celebration and ribbon cutting for the Community Office Grand Opening reception held at 1365 First Avenue on Friday, March 20th at 2pm. Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney, State Senator Jose Serrano, Council Member Ben Kallos and Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer were in attendance to recognize the outstanding work of the local nominees and to welcome the new community office. Mrs. Brown entertained the crowd with a poetry reading. “I applaud the achievements, leadership and noteworthy contributions of women in our community,” said Assembly Member Rebecca Seawright. “It is important to recognize the women who came before us like Julia Richman, the first Jewish principal, first woman to be appointed a District Superintendent and the namesake of a fabulous public high school in my district. We stand taller because we stand on the shoulders of the women who came before us and they deserve to be recognized. I am thrilled to honor the following Women of Distinction: Judith E. Schneider
Patricia Saunders
Barbara Chocky
Yvonne Fitzner
Judith Berdy
Monica Iken-Murphy
Jill Eisner
Helaine Eisenberg
Betty Cooper Wallerstein
Winifred Cudjoe
Helene Goldfarb
Rebecca Ocampo” For more information about the awards, call Cali Madia at 212-288-4607.