Dear Friend,

The state Legislature enacted the real property tax credit to help senior citizens and lower-income households cope with their property tax burden. If your gross income is \$18,000 or less and you pay \$450 or less for rent or own your home, you may qualify for a tax credit.

If you believe your real property taxes or rent are high in relation to your income, read the brochure carefully to see if you qualify.

Three things determine the amount of the credit: age, income and the amount of real property taxes or the amount of rent you pay. Even if you don't pay state income taxes, you can still get a check for the amount of the tax credit due – but you must apply for it.

For additional information, contact the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance. If I can be of additional help in this or any other issue, please do not hesitate to contact my office.

Sincerely,

Angelo Santaharhara F

Angelo Santabarbara, PE Member of Assembly

Albany Office

Room 502, Legislative Office Bldg. Albany, NY 12248 518-455-5197

District Offices

433 State Street, Center City Schenectady, NY 12305 518-382-2941

2550 Riverfront Center Amsterdam, NY 12010 518-843-0227

Email

santabarbaraa@nyassembly.gov

PRSRT STD. U.S. POSTAGE PAID Albany, NY Permit No. 75

Do you qualify for the real property tax credit?



Look inside for important information from Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara, PE

THE REAL **PROPERTY TAX CREDIT** TAX RELIEF FOR LOWER-INCOME **HOUSEHOLDS** Courtesy of **Assemblyman Angelo** Santabarbara, PE

Updated 2/24

New York State Assembly, Albany, New York 12248

What is the real property tax credit?

The real property tax credit is a refundable tax credit to help low-income households and senior citizens on fixed incomes who are confronted with high property taxes or rents. Those who qualify for the credit can receive a check from the state.

The real property tax credit may be available to New York State residents who have household gross incomes of \$18,000 or less, and pay either real property taxes or rent for their residences. The amount of the credit for each household will vary depending on income and real property taxes paid (see table to the right). In addition, to be eligible for the credit, the taxpayer or spouse must be a resident of New York State for the entire year and must live in the same residence, either owned or rented, for at least six months. For more information, visit the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance at tax.ny.gov/pit/credits/real_property_tax_credit.htm, or call 518-457-5181.

Remember...

A tax deduction is subtracted from gross income to determine taxable income. A tax credit is deducted from the tax owed after all deductions are made. Household gross income does not include the income of an unrelated, rent-paying tenant. The household gross income does include all income received by any other persons who live in the same residence as the taxpayer.

Who doesn't qualify?

An individual does not qualify for the real property tax credit if any of the following conditions exist:

- 1. The combined gross income of all members of your household is over \$18,000.
- 2. You can be claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer.
- 3. The residence is wholly exempt from real property taxation.
- 4. The current market value of all real property you own (including garages, houses and land) exceeds \$85,000.
- 5. The average monthly rent (not counting heat, gas, electricity, furnishings or board) exceeds \$450 per month.
- 6. Part of the residence is rented and the income derived from nonresidential purposes exceeds 20 percent of the total rent.

How to get your real property tax credit

To claim the credit, file form IT-214 which can be done with your NYS income tax or separately. Form IT-214 is available online at tax.ny.gov/forms/income_credit_forms.htm, or can be ordered by calling the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance at 518-457-5431.

You may claim credit and receive a refund for past years. Complete and file IT-214 for the year(s) you were eligible as soon as you can, but before these dates:

Eligible year	Last date to file
2020	May 17, 2024
2021	April 15, 2025
2022	April 15, 2026

Maximum allowable tax credit for qualified taxpayers

Household gross income for taxable year	Maximum credit for those who reach age 65 before the beginning of or during the taxable year	Maximum credit for all other taxpayers
\$0 to \$1,000	\$375	\$75
\$1,001to\$2,000	\$358	\$73
\$2,001to\$3,000	\$341	\$71
\$3,001to\$4,000	\$324	\$69
\$4,001to\$5,000	\$307	\$67
\$5,001to\$6,000	\$290	\$65
\$6,001to\$7,000	\$273	\$63
\$7,001 to \$8,000	\$256	\$61
\$8,001to\$9,000	\$239	\$59
\$9,001to\$10,000	\$222	\$57
\$10,001 to \$11,000	\$205	\$55
\$11,001 to \$12,000	\$188	\$53
\$12,001 to \$13,000	\$171	\$51
\$13,001 to \$14,000	\$154	\$49
\$14,001 to \$15,000	\$137	\$47
\$15,001 to \$16,000	\$120	\$45
\$16,001 to \$17,000	\$103	\$43
\$17,001 to \$18,000	\$86	\$41