

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

RANKING MINORITY MEMBER Aging Veterans' Affairs

COMMITTEES
Health
Higher Education
Tourism, Parks, Arts and
Sports Development

JACOB C. ASHBY Assemblyman 107th District

PLEASE REPLY TO
District Office:

594 Columbia Turnpike
East Greenbush, New York 12061
518-272-6149

Albany Office:
Room 720 LOB
Albany, New York 12248
518-455-5777

ashbyj@nyassembly.gov

January 15, 2021

Hon. Carl Heastie Speaker, New York State Assembly Legislative Office Building, Room 932 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. Aileen M. Gunther Chair, Assembly Committee on Mental Health Legislative Office Building, Room 826 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. Didi Barrett Chair, Assembly Committee on Veterans' Affairs Legislative Office Building, Room 841 Albany, NY 12248

Dear Speaker Heastie, Chairwomen Gunther and Barrett:

We write to request that the Majority Conference immediately release all available funding for the Joseph P. Dwyer Veterans Peer-to-Peer Support Program. As you are aware, more than \$4.5 million was allocated in the 2020-2021 Enacted Budget for this critical initiative.

Continuing to delay the distribution of these resources threatens one of the most relied-upon and successful programs serving New York's veterans. We hope you agree, after all they have given to us, our veteran community deserves all the care, attention and assistance we can provide.

The financial impacts of COVID-19 on our state have been devastating. While we appreciate the need for prudent spending during these times, the pandemic has also taken a severe toll on individuals struggling with mental illness or post-traumatic stress. Veterans involved in the Dwyer Peer-to-Peer Program depend greatly on these critical services for their personal health and well-being, employment and housing assistance, and necessary recovery.

Last year members of the Assembly Minority Conference toured the state and talked to veterans about looming budget and program cuts, and the impacts such actions would have on critical services. Through collaborative efforts, millions in proposed cuts to the Joseph P. Dwyer Program were restored in the final Enacted Budget.

As public officials, we have a responsibility to honor the commitment we made to the brave men and women who have given so much of themselves to cause and country. State funding has been approved and set aside for this incredible program. Our veterans have kept us safe - it's time we keep our word.

Thank you for your consideration. God bless America.

Sincerely,

acob Ashby

107th Assembly District

Joseph Angelino

122nd Assembly District

Will Barclay

Assembly Minority Leader

LI: Win a. Bauch

Kenneth D. Blankenbush 117th Assembly District

Ken Blanfenbus

Keith P. Brown

12th Assembly District

Karl Brabenec

98th Assembly District

Kevin M. Byrne

94th Assembly District

Marjorie L. Byrnes

133rd Assembly District

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District

Michael Durso 9th Assembly District

Christopher S. Friend 124th Assembly District

John Giglio 2nd Assembly District

Andrew Goodell 150th Assembly District

Joshua Jensen
134th Assembly District

Brian Manktelow 130th Assembly District

John Mikulin 17th Assembly District

John K. Misulin

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

arett Gandolfo 7th Assembly District

Joseph Giglio 148th Assembly District

Stephen M. Hawley 139th Assembly District

Have Howery

Kieran Michael Lalor 105th Assembly District

K. M. L

David G. McDonough 14th Assembly District

Brian D. Miller 101st Assembly District

Brian D. Miller

Melissa "Missy" Miller 20th Assembly District

Angelo J. Morinello 145th Assembly District

Philip A. Palmesano 132nd Assembly District

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62nd Assembly District

Colin J. Schmitt 99th Assembly District

Colif. Schmits

Douglas M. Smith 5th Assembly District

Dougla M Satts

Mark Walczyk 116th Assembly District Michael A. Montesano
15th Assembly District

(Nuchael of Nonio

Michael J. Norris 144th Assembly District

Edward V. Ra
Edward P. Ra
19th Assembly District

John J. Salka 121st Assembly District

Matthew Simpson 114th Assembly District

Christopher Tague 102nd Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh 112th Assembly District