
Housing 
complaints
Important information 
about New York City’s 
rent and housing laws

NEXT STEPS OF action in NYC
If your landlord does not act in a reasonable period of time (determined by the urgency of the problem), take 
the following steps:

HOW DO I MAKE A HOUSING COMPLAINT?
1   Speak to your landlord

Your landlord is required by law to keep apartment units and buildings 
in livable condition, provide needed repairs and maintain required or 
essential services, including heat and hot water. If they fail to do so, 
contact them.

2  Write to your landlord
If your landlord fails to respond to your complaint, it is recommended, but 
not required, to write your landlord or their agent by certified mail, return 
receipt requested. Always keep copies of any correspondence.

1   Seek a rent reduction
If you are rent-controlled or rent-stabilized, you may 
file a service complaint with the NYS Homes and 
Community Renewal's Office of Rent Administration 
(ORA) for a rent reduction based on decreased 
service(s). If they determine your complaint is valid, 
they will order the landlord to correct it. For more 
information and to find forms online, please visit the 
Homes and Community Renewal (HCR) website at 
hcr.ny.gov/living-conditions-and-essential-services, 
or call ORA at 1-833-499-0343.

2  Contact NYC311
While you await action on your rent reduction 
request, you can call 311 (TTY 212-504-4115) to file 
a complaint with the NYC Department of Housing 
Preservation and Development (HPD). You can also 
submit your complaint online at portal.311.nyc.gov. 

HPD will notify the building owner that a complaint 
has been filed. If repairs remain unmade, HPD will 
send a uniformed Code Enforcement inspector 
to verify and classify the violations. If the city 
sends an inspector and no one is at home, a card 
will be left with a phone number so you can make 

an appointment. If the Inspector writes up any 
violations, HPD will give the landlord notice and 
instruct them to repair the issue within a specific 
amount of time: 

CLASS A (non-hazardous) 90 days

CLASS B (hazardous) 30 days

CLASS C lead-based paint 21 days

CLASS C window guards 21 days

CLASS C heat or hot water immediately

CLASS C (all other types) 24 hours

The time frame starts when the landlord receives 
notice of the verified violation from the city. The 
landlord will get a copy of any recorded violations, 
and must certify that the violation was corrected 
within the appropriate timeframe. Then, the city 
should send you a copy of the landlord’s certification. 
If improperly certified, the city can reinspect your 
apartment and take the landlord to Housing Court 
to force compliance. The HPD's Emergency Repair 
Program may repair a Class C violation and bill the 
landlord.  For more information, call 311.
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Dear Tenant:

I care about how rent and housing laws affect 
you. Stable housing means stable lives for us 
and for our families. That's why New York has 
enacted legislation, like the Housing Stability 
and Tenant Protection Act of 2019, to better 
protect tenants from unfair landlord practices. 

If your residence has a housing quality or safety 
issue, you may need to file a complaint. This 
brochure explains some common questions 
about making housing complaints. For more 
information, or if you need more help, please 
call 311 and ask for the Department of Housing 
Preservation and Development (HPD). Outside 
of New York City, call 212-NEW-YORK. You may 
also visit portal.311.nyc.gov to find an answer to 
your question or determine the proper course 
of action.

Remember, you have rights as a tenant. Please 
let me know if I can provide additional help with 
this or any other community issue.

Sincerely,

Carl E. Heastie 
Speaker of the Assembly

250 Broadway, Suite 2301
New York, NY 10007
212-312-1400

Room 932, Legislative Office Building
Albany, NY 12248
518-455-3791

speaker@nyassembly.gov

A MESSAGE FROM...
Speaker of  
the Assembly 
Carl E. Heastie

COURTESY OF...

Speaker of the Assembly
Carl E. Heastie



3  Go to Housing Court
While waiting for the city to act on your complaint, 
you can bring your complaint to Housing Court. 
Class C violations can be brought immediately. For 
other violations you must wait 30 days after making 
your complaint if the city has not sent an inspector 
and recorded violations or if the city has recorded 
violations and the landlord’s time to repair them  
has expired.

To file your petition, you must pay a $45 fee at the 
clerk’s office in the Housing Part of Civil Court of the 
City of New York. This fee can be waived if you are 
unable to pay. Legal help is not required, but it is advised.

If conditions are dangerous throughout the building, 
one-third of the tenants can jointly ask the court to 
appoint someone to collect rent and make repairs. 
This is called an Article 7A proceeding and usually 
requires legal help.

To obtain a list of the outstanding recorded violations 
in your building for free, write to the Housing part of 
NYC Civil Court at 111 Centre Street, New York, NY 
10013. To find your landlord or agent’s name  
and address call 311 or, outside of New York City, 
212-NEW-YORK (212-639-9675).   

Other actions to Consider
Can I withhold rent?
If a landlord fails to correct serious violations, some 
tenants decide to withhold rent. Please seek advice 
from an attorney or experienced tenant organization 
before proceeding. Generally, the process would be:

•  Notify your landlord by certified mail, with a return 
receipt requested, that you plan to withhold your 
rent unless they make specific repairs. 

•  If your landlord doesn’t respond and still doesn’t 
make repairs, continue to notify your landlord and 
withhold your rent. Set aside the unpaid money so 
you can pay the back rent immediately if required. 
The law often requires tenants to deposit their 
withheld rent into a court account. 

Your landlord can bring an action in Housing Court 
to evict you for nonpayment of rent. If you receive 
a notice, act quickly: you will only have 10 days to 
file an answer in court and likely will need legal help. 
In court, your defense will be the landlord’s refusal 
to make repairs. If the judge agrees, they can order 
repairs. The judge may allow you to keep all or part 
of the rent money or direct you to deposit the rent 
money with the court. 

If the court decides the problem isn't severe enough to 
justify withholding rent, you must pay the back rent 
or face eviction. You may also be required to pay the 
landlord’s court costs and legal fees.

 Can I make repairs myself and deduct the 
cost from the rent?
A tenant could make emergency repairs and either 
deduct the cost from the rent or sue the landlord 
in Small Claims Court to recover the costs. You 
must keep records of your attempts to contact the 
landlord and your expenses. This course of action 
is risky and involves some unresolved legal issues. 
Do this only after conferring with an attorney or an 
experienced tenant organization. Again, the landlord 
may evict you for nonpayment of the rent. 

Can I be evicted?
A landlord may not personally force you to 
leave. They must legally serve you with notice 
of an eviction. Once you are served you have an 
opportunity to respond and go to court. Only the 
court has the ability to order a warrant to evict you. 
The warrant is executed by a marshall. It allows them 
to remove you from the premises. 

If you receive notice of an eviction action, you will 
usually have 10 days to file an answer in court, and 
you will likely need legal assistance. Since 2019, judges 
have greater leeway to stay the execution of an 
eviction warrant in cases where eviction would cause 
an undue hardship. 

If you live in a rent-regulated apartment, as long as you 
pay your rent on time and do not violate your lease 
or your obligations under the rent laws, you can only 
be evicted under limited circumstances. Examples of 
these limited circumstances include when the landlord 
seeks the apartment for their family’s personal use 
or if the owner wants to demolish the building. These 
situations are governed by special rules. 

State law also protects tenants from eviction in 
retaliation for making a good faith complaint to the 
landlord alleging uninhabitable conditions. 

Landlords of unregulated units are also required to 
provide notice if they do not intend to renew a lease. 
The amount of time they have to provide you this 
notice is based on the length of tenancy.

Tenants facing eviction in Housing Court or 
NYCHA administrative proceedings have access 
to free legal representation or advice provided 
by legal services organizations from across the 
five boroughs. For more information, contact 
Housing Court Answers by calling 718-557-1379 
or 212-962-4795, or call 311 and ask for the city's 
Tenant Helpline.

IMPORTANT CONTACTS
New York City 311
   311
   TTY: 212-504-4115
   Outside NYC call: 212-NEW-YORK 

(212-639-9675)
   portal.311.nyc.gov

NYC Department of Housing 
Preservation and Development
   212-863-6300
   nyc.gov/site/hpd/index.page 

NYC Housing Authority (NYCHA)
   212-306-3000
   nyc.gov/site/nycha/index.page

NYS Homes and Community 
Renewal (NYSHCR)
   1-833-499-0343
   hcr.ny.gov

   Office of Rent Administration (ORA): 
hcr.ny.gov/office-rent-administration-
ora

   Tenant Protection Unit (TPU):  
hcr.ny.gov/tenant-protection-unit

   For more facts about your rights as 
a tenant: hcr.ny.gov/living-conditions-
and-essential-services

NYC Legal Services for Tenants
   718-557-1379 or 212-962-4795
   nyc.gov/site/hra/help/legal-services-

for-tenants.page

source: New York State Homes and Community Renewal (NYSHCR), hcr.ny.gov


