
Leases
A lease is an oral or written contract between a tenant and 
a landlord containing the terms and conditions of the rental 
agreement. Public housing authority leases have their own 
regulations and specific lease conditions. There is often no 
lease in a month-to-month tenancy, which may be ended by 
the landlord or the tenant. However, notice must be given at 
least one month before your next rent payment is due. An 
oral lease can be enforced for up to one year.

At a minimum, your lease should always include:
	 the identities of the parties to the agreement;
	 the term of the lease;
	 a clear description of the rental space, including 
appliances and other furnishings;

	 who is liable for utility expenses;
	 the amount of rent;
	 the date rent is due;
	 penalties for late rent payments, if any;
	 the landlord’s responsibilities;
	 the tenant’s responsibilities; and
	 provisions regarding painting.

For your protection, read and understand your lease before 
signing it. After it is signed, a written lease may not be 
changed without consent of both parties. Any changes in 
your lease should be in writing and signed by your landlord.

Before you sign a lease
Landlords cannot collect application fees and cannot charge 
more than a total of $20 for background or credit check fees. 
The landlord must provide the potential tenant with a copy of 
the background check or credit check and a receipt or invoice 
from the entity conducting the check prior to collecting the 
$20. If a potential tenant provides a copy of a background 
check or credit check conducted within the past 30 days, this 
fee may be waived.

Examine the windows, wiring, insulation, plumbing, walls, floors, 
stairways, stove, refrigerator, toilet, sinks and heating system. 
These items should be in good working condition. If they 
aren’t, address or resolve the matter before signing the lease.

If you discover issues after you have moved in, write to your 
landlord requesting repairs within a reasonable amount of 
time. Remember, read the lease carefully and know your legal 
responsibilities under the lease.

Early lease termination
If you wish to terminate your lease before the end of its time, 
your landlord is required to attempt to mitigate damages 
by making a reasonable, good faith attempt to re-rent the 
unit. You may also, in some instances, sublet or assign the 
apartment.

Senior citizens moving into health care facilities, as well as 
victims of domestic violence who reasonably fear that they 
cannot safely remain in their households, are covered by 
special protections for early lease termination.

Good Cause Eviction Law
The Good Cause Eviction Law took effect April 20, 2024 
and applies throughout New York City and in any local 
municipalities across the state that elect to opt in. The 
law protects certain tenants from unjust eviction and 
unreasonable rent increases. Effective August 18, 2024, your 
landlord is required to inform you in the lease if your unit is 
covered by the Good Cause Eviction Law. To learn more, visit 
New York State Homes and Community Renewal online at 
hcr.ny.gov/good-cause-eviction.

You may be an ETPA tenant
If there are six or more apartments in your building, and 
the building is in a locality in Dutchess, Nassau, Rockland, 
Ulster or Westchester counties that has adopted the 
provisions of the Emergency Tenant Protection Act of 1974 
(ETPA), your apartment may be covered by special rules and 
regulations. The program is administered by the New York 
State Division of Housing and Community Renewal. Each 
county has a rent guidelines board, which issues guidelines 
stating the maximum allowable increase in rent for one- or 
two-year leases or renewals. This provision prohibits any

Discrimination: It is unlawful to deny a person housing based on their race, creed, color, national origin, gender identity or 
expression, disability, sexual orientation, military status, marital status, family status, lawful source of income or status as a victim 
of domestic violence.

Up
da

te
d 

8/
24

Tenants’ 
Rights

Information on...
  Leases
  Security deposits
  Evictions
  Subleases
  �Responsibilities of 
landlords and tenants in 
Dutchess, Nassau, 
Rockland, Ulster & 
Westchester counties

250 Broadway, Suite 2301
New York, NY 10007

212-312-1400

Room 932
Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12248
518-455-3791

speaker@nyassembly.gov
www.nyassembly.gov

Dear Friend,

New York State housing laws can be complex, 
and tenants can often be unaware of their rights.

The 2019 Housing Stability and Tenant 
Protection Act enacted historic tenant 
safeguards. Special laws for certain housing 
accommodations in some parts of the state 
provide tenants with additional rights. And, the 
newly enacted Good Cause Eviction Law now 
protects many New Yorkers from unjust eviction 
and unreasonable rent hikes.

I hope you find this brochure helpful. Please 
contact my office if I can assist you further with 
this or any other matter.

Sincerely,

Carl E. Heastie
Speaker of the Assembly
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other increase except in certain circumstances such as when 
an owner makes a major capital improvement.

If you are a new tenant renting a vacant apartment or an 
existing tenant renewing your lease, you have the choice of 
taking a one- or two-year lease.

Landlords must continue all required services that were 
provided at the time the apartment became regulated.

Senior citizens and tenants 
with disabilities
If you are a senior, aged 62 or over, you may be eligible 
for the Senior Citizen Rent Increase Exemption (SCRIE) 
program. Individuals with disabilities who receive certain 
forms of state or federal disability-related financial assistance 
may be eligible for the Disability Rent Increase Exemption 
(DRIE) program. Remember, there are very specific eligibility 
requirements for these programs.

Senior citizens and tenants with disabilities are also protected 
from being threatened with eviction due to conversion to 
cooperative or condominium ownership.

Heat
In a building with three or more units, between Oct. 1 and 
May 31, landlords are required by state law to provide heating 
equipment that can maintain room temperatures of 68° F 
between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. when the temperature outside is 
below 55° F.

County laws may go beyond what’s required by state law.

Housing code violations
Any problems endangering your health and safety should be 
reported to the landlord immediately. If the landlord is not 
available or won’t correct the problem, tenants should call 
their local health or building department.

Subleases
If you live in a building with three or fewer apartments, you 
do not have the right to sublet. You may ask the landlord for 
permission to sublease your apartment, but the landlord does 
not have to agree.

In buildings with four or more apartments, you are allowed 
to sublease your apartment with the advance written 

consent of the landlord. As the original tenant of a subleased 
apartment, you remain liable for damages and/or defaults in 
rent. The steps to sublease are:

1. �Inform your landlord of your intent to sublease by certified 
or registered mail, including information required by law 
about the sublessee.

2. �Your landlord has 10 days to request more information.

3. �Within 30 days after this request and additional 
information is mailed, or if more information was not 
requested within 30 days of the initial notification, your 
landlord must approve or deny the request.

4. �If your landlord fails to notify you, this can be considered 
an approval.

5. �Upon approval, you may sublease the apartment.

Security deposits
A security deposit is a sum of money held by the landlord 
to cover violations of the lease — e.g., damages — caused 
by a tenant or nonpayment of rent. The law limits a security 
deposit to an amount equal to one month’s rent and requires 
any deposit to be refundable. Tenants also have the right to 
ask for a walk-through inspection with the landlord before 
occupancy and again at the end of the tenancy. As a tenant, 
you should request a receipt for your security deposit. In 
buildings with six or more housing units, the landlord must:

	 deposit your money in an interest-bearing account;

	 give you the name and address of the bank in writing; 
and

	 hold the interest in trust or pay it to you annually. The 
landlord may retain 1% of the interest generated on the 
security deposit for administrative expenses.

In buildings with fewer than six housing units, the landlord 
is not required to deposit the money in an interest-bearing 
account. If the landlord decides to deposit the money in a 
bank, you’re entitled to proper notification and interest, if any, 
less 1% for administrative expenses.

When you move, you should receive a refund of the security 
deposit. You’re responsible for any damages beyond normal 
wear and tear, and your landlord may withhold all or part 
of the security deposit to cover damage or unpaid rent. 
Landlords are required to provide an itemized account of why 
any security deposit was retained within 14 days of the tenant 
vacating the premises. The landlord can be found liable for 
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punitive damages up to twice the amount of the deposit if 
they willfully failed to follow the new provisions relating to 
security deposits.

Evictions
Eviction is the legal removal of a person from someone else’s 
property. The steps in an eviction are:

1. �Tenant defaults in rent payments and/or breaks the terms 
of the lease or the lease expires. Tenants have 14 days to 
pay their rent before an action can be brought.

2. �Landlord files a complaint and serves a petition to the 
tenant. Tenants must be given at least 10 days’ notice for a 
court hearing.

3. �Tenant appears in court to contest the eviction and to 
raise any counterclaims against the landlord. If there is a 
dispute, either party may request an adjournment of at 
least 14 days. In certain circumstances, the law also allows 
judges to stay an eviction proceeding if it would cause 
undue hardship in a tenant’s life. Tenants who don’t contest 
the eviction in court lose the case by default.

4. �If the landlord wins, the court issues a warrant, ordering 
the tenant’s eviction, to be served by the marshal or sheriff 
on a business day between the hours of sunrise and sunset. 
The court may also issue a monetary judgment against 
the tenant. If the landlord can’t prove his or her case, the 
action is dismissed. If the tenant wins a counterclaim, 
the court issues a judgment against the landlord.

5. �If the case involves the nonpayment of rent, the tenant 
can usually end the action by paying rent before the 
warrant is issued.

6. �The warrant is served, giving the tenant 14 days to  collect 
their belongings and find a new home.

7. �After 14 days, the marshal or sheriff removes the tenant’s 
belongings from the premises and locks the tenant out.

Retaliatory eviction 
protections
Every lease is a guarantee by the landlord that the premises 
are fit for human habitation and tenants will not be in danger 
– called a warranty of habitability. Breach of this guarantee 
can be grounds for a tenant to sue the landlord or, if the 
landlord has started a court action, have the landlord’s action 
dismissed.

However, tenants are often reluctant to report violations of 
housing codes or seek enforcement of their legal rights for 
fear they may be evicted in retaliation. By law, a residential 
tenant — except tenants of owner-occupied dwellings with 
less than four units — can claim retaliation as a defense to an 
eviction action if the tenant has filed a good faith complaint 
of an unsafe, unhealthy or uninhabitable dwelling or the 
tenant has taken action in good faith to secure his or her 
rights as a tenant. Landlords have the burden of proving the 
eviction is not in retaliation for up to a year after the tenant’s 
good faith complaint or action, and tenants may receive a 
one-year lease renewal if they prevail. The laws also protect 
tenants against landlord retaliation for participating in tenant 
organizations.

Landlord
Under state law, landlords are prohibited from allowing 
any condition that may endanger a tenant’s life, health 
or safety.

	 The dwelling must be clean before the tenant moves in.

	 Public halls and stairways must be lighted adequately.

	 During the winter season, heat must be kept on 
at all times, except during repairs, alterations and 
temporary emergencies.

	 Radiators, plumbing, wiring, water heaters and 
furnaces must be maintained.

	 Apartment and surrounding areas must be kept 
free from insects, rodents and trash.

Tenant
	 Pay the rent on time.

	 Apartment and yard must be kept clean.

	 The landlord must be kept informed of any 
problems with facilities.

	 Any damages to the premises, besides normal wear 
and tear, must be repaired.

*Unless otherwise stated in the lease

Responsibilities*


