Ra Honors 12 Women of Distinction and Local Emerging Leader

Assemblyman Ed Ra (R-Franklin Square) was proud to present the 2023 Women of Distinction awards this past Saturday, Sept. 9, at Adelphi University’s Thomas Dixon Lovely Ballroom to 12 special honorees and one emerging leader in the community. Ra hosts Women of Distinction annually to recognize the contributions of outstanding women in the 19th Assembly District.

The keynote speaker was Mary-Grace Tomecki, and Adelphi student Lara Campanella performed the National Anthem. To lead the Pledge of Allegiance, Ra asked Mr. Rosario Trovato, a 101-year-old WWII veteran who nominated Louise Rider for all of the work she does for the Veterans of Nassau County. Also joining Ra at the ceremony were local elected officials—Sen. Patricia Canzoneri-Fitzgerald, Town of North Hempstead Supervisor Jennifer DeSena, Town of North Hempstead Clerk Ragini Srivastava, Town of Hempstead Councilman Tommy Muscarella, Town of Hempstead Receiver of Taxes Jeanine Driscoll, Nassau County Legislator John Giuffre, Nassau County Legislator Bill Gaylor, Mineola Mayor Paul Pereira and East Williston Mayor Bonnie Parente.

“Women of Distinction is a chance for our community to come together to support and honor those who make a significant difference in the lives of those around them—I was more than happy to be joined by more than 125 guests in recognizing and thanking our honorees. This annual event is a reminder that no matter the hardships we may face, there are people in our neighborhoods who care, who advocate for those in need, who take initiative to help their community in any way they can. This year’s honorees are women with an unwavering dedication to community service, education, health care, veterans’ affairs and spend their time selflessly uplifting others,” Ra said. “Sharing these women’s stories is just one way we can strive to give back to those who give their all for each of us.”

“I also want to give a sincere thank you to every one of the amazing women who were nominated this year and every woman who aims to make our district a better place for all. Thank you, as well, to our host Adelphi University for allowing us to bring this program to the women in our community” Ra concluded.

The 2023 Women of Distinction honorees are: Kristin Biggin, Naomi Billiris, Jacqueline Burdi Eltringham, Ann Burger, Donna Edwards, Margaret M. Kelly, Rachel Lynch, Louise Rider, Margret Strievski, Dayna Stropkay, RoseAnn Vernice and Nancy Zolezzi. The 2023 Emerging Leader is Olivia Macchio. Congratulations!