Ra Hosts 2013 ‘Women Of Distinction’ Awards

Assemblyman Ed Ra (R-Franklin Square) held his 2013 Women of Distinction Award ceremony over the weekend, honoring 13 area women for their commitment to bettering the quality of life for their communities. The honorees’ work included service in education, the medical field, and community service and volunteerism. Ra enjoyed the event and was pleased to show his gratitude to those who have put the well-being of their communities at the forefront of their lives. “This year’s Women of Distinction Award ceremony was a great way to honor those who have continually gone out of their way to make their communities a little brighter,” said Ra. “From serving as teachers to volunteer work in local groups, this year’s slate of honorees is truly remarkable. It was a pleasure to host this event and express our gratitude to these truly wonderful members of our community.” The list of 2013 Women of Distinction Award honorees is as follows: Rita Cona – Franklin Square
Dorothy Daly – Alberston
Donnalynn Darling – Garden City
Caroline DeBenedittis – East Williston
Diane Hansen – West Hempstead
Regina McGowan – Garden City
Rosalie Norton – West Hempstead
Carol Nowakowski – New Hyde Park
Purnima Popli – Garden City
Joan Romagnoli – Garden City Park
Lynn Schaefering – Garden City Park
Suzanne A. Viscovich – Floral Park