Assemblywoman Buttenschon Announces Winners of 2020 Teaching Recognition Awards

Assemblywoman Marianne Buttenschon (D-Utica/Rome) announced the winners of her 2020 Teaching Recognition Awards in the 119th Assembly District.

“Teachers and principals aren’t given enough credit for their important work,” said Buttenschon. “It’s no small feat to help guide the next generation, and their work has only grown more difficult during the COVID-19 pandemic. These awards are a way to celebrate the achievements of our educators and remind them that we appreciate all that they do for our kids. I’m proud to recognize Mohawk Valley’s finest educators for making a difference in students’ lives.”

The 2020 Teaching Recognition Awards highlight the contributions of teachers and principals in the 119th Assembly District who have had a positive impact on their students.

The winners of Assemblywoman Buttenschon’s 2020 Teaching Recognition Awards are:

  • Principal Josh Gifford – Proctor High School
  • Principal Tania Kalavazoff – Albany Elementary
  • Principal Karen Miller ­– Stokes Elementary
  • Principal Kimberly Newton – Marcy Elementary
  • Carissa Asaro – Albany Elementary
  • Kathryn Dekker-Notre Dame Elementary
  • Aysenur Ersoy – Utica Academy of Science
  • Megan Fallone – Utica Academy of Science
  • Tatum Falvo – Ridge Mills Elementary
  • Michael Farnach – Utica Academy of Science
  • Rachel German – Utica Academy of Science
  • Patrick Goodenow – Whitesboro Middle School
  • Allison Grace – Bradley Elementary School
  • Joann Hasenauer – General William Floyd Elementary
  • Yagmur Kasimogullari – Utica Academy of Science
  • Anthony Kulesa – Utica Academy of Science
  • Bobbi Latray – Utica Academy of Science
  • Penny Mann – Oriskany Junior/Senior High
  • Aaron McElroy – Utica Academy of Science
  • Jake Meiss – Rome Free Academy
  • Caitlyn Notaro – Westmoreland High School
  • Gianni Notaro – Westmoreland High School
  • Marco Rodegher – Utica Academy of Science
  • Stephanie Sacco – New York Mills Union Free School
  • Andre Short – Frankfort-Schulyer High School
  • Allison Taft Keysor – Utica Academy of Science
  • Sandra Tucci-Marcy Elementary
  • William Wares – Utica Academy of Science