Assemblywoman Buttenschon Announces Winners of National Correctional Officers and Employees Week Awards

Assemblywoman Marianne Buttenschon (D-Utica/Rome) announced the winners of her 2020 National Correctional Officers and Employees Week Awards in the 119th Assembly District. The hardworking and dedicated men and women who work in corrections are celebrated annually nationwide during the first calendar week of May.

“The ongoing public health crisis has created unprecedented demands for corrections workers across the Mohawk Valley, and it’s more important than ever to recognize those outstanding individuals who have gone above and beyond to meet these new challenges,” Buttenschon said. “These unsung heroes provide a vital service to keep our corrections facilities and communities safe, typically away from the public eye. Recognizing corrections staff with these awards is a way to show our gratitude for their brave and selfless work.”

A dozen winners were selected from the nominations submitted to Buttenschon’s Office, which include:

  • Seth Blovat
  • Lawrence M. Ciaccia
  • Colleen Coppola
  • William Dundon
  • Sgt. Steve P. Farr
  • Joe Herringshaw
  • Vincent V. Leone
  • Jesse Lyman
  • Ryan O’Grady
  • Sandra Tedesco
  • Ashley Whitman
  • Sean P. Wiggins